IPL Winners List from 2008-2021: Complete History of IPL

IPL Winners List

The Indian Premier League is a professional Twenty20 cricket league that features eight teams across eight different Indian series. There is no other domestic cricket league as large as the Indian Premier League (IPL). The IPL T20 league has banded the world’s best cricketers to play under one team without regard for nationality. In the last 13 seasons, all eight teams have developed some pretty intense rivalries. Many questions from the IPL are asked in the competitive examinations and have been since the IPL winners list became a hot topic in the sports industry. Candidates who are having a passion to get a government job have to get the knowledge from this IPL Winners List topic.

Indian Premier League – IPL History

The Indian Premier League(IPL) starts in the year 2008. The league was founded by the BCCI(Board of Control for Cricket in India). It is a domestic 20-20 cricket league held in India annually. Different well-known celebrities own the IPL teams for their respective franchises and their ads are even more interesting to their entire concept. The first tournament was started in various parts of the country in 2008. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending champions of the Indian Premier League (IPL) while five-time champions Mumbai Indians are so far the most successful team of IPL. While Chennai Super Kings have won the cup of the tournament 4 times.

States and Capitals of India

IPL 2022:

As per the news released, the IPL 2022 is expected to start from April 2022 in Chennai. The main highlight of the upcoming season is additionally 2 teams will get added to the league. Let’s have a look at this IPL winners list and make a note of it which will be useful for your upcoming examinations.

IPL Winners List & Runners

IPL Winners List
Season Stadium (Final Match) Winner Team Runner up Team Player of the Match
2008 DY Patil Stadium Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Yusuf Pathan
2009 Wanderers Stadium (South Africa) Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Anil Kumble
2010 DY Patil Stadium Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Suresh Raina
2011 M. A. Chidambaram Stadium Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Murali Vijay
2012 M. A. Chidambaram  Stadium Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Manvinder Bisla
2013 Eden Gardens Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kieron Pollard
2014 M. Chinnaswamy Stadium  Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Manish Pandey

IPL Winners List

2015 Eden Gardens Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Rohit Sharma
2016 M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers  Bangalore Ben Cutting
2017 Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiant Krunal Pandya
2018 Wankhede Stadium Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad Shane Watson
2019 Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Jasprit Bumrah
2020 Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals Trent Boult
2021 Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders Faf du Plessis

IPL Winners List – Highlights

Batting (All-Time)
Orange Cap/Most Runs Virat Kohli (5878)
Most Sixes Chris Gayle (349)
Most Sixes (innings) Chris Gayle (17)
Highest Individual Score Chris Gayle (175*)
Highest Strike Rates Andre Russell (182.33)
Highest Strike Rates (innings) Krunal Pandya (500.00)
Highest Averages Ruturaj Gaikwad (51.00)
Most Fifties David Warner (48)
Most Centuries Chris Gayle (6)
Most Fours Shikhar Dhawan (588)
Fastest Fifties (innings) KL Rahul (14 Balls)
Fastest Centuries (innings) Chris Gayle (30 Balls)
Bowling (All-Time)
Purple Cap/Most wickets Lasith Malinga (170)
Best Bowling Figures Alzarri Joseph (3.4 overs; 12 runs; 6 wickets)
Best Averages Kagiso Rabada (17.86)
Best Economy Rates Rashid Khan (6.24)
Best Strike Rates (innings) Suresh Raina (1.50)
Best Strike Rates (tournament) Kagiso Rabada (13.10)
Most Runs Conceded (innings) Basil Thampi (70)
Most Hat-Tricks Amit Mishra (3)
Most Dot Balls Bowled (tournament) Harbhajan Singh (1,249)
Most Number of Maiden Overs Bowled Praveen Kumar (14)
Most Four Wickets in an Innings Sunil Narine (6)

IPL Winners List – Player Awards. 

Apart from the player of the match, there are also player awards, which are given out based on the player’s performance. The complete list of IPL winners list and awards for best performances includes the following categories:

  • Orange Cap This will be awarded to the player who leads the run-scorer in the whole tournament. Shaun Marsh became the first winner of the award.
  • Purple Cap – This will be awarded to the player who leads the wicket-taker in the whole tournament – Sohail Tanveer was the first awardee of Purple Cap.
  • Maximum Sixes Awards – This will be to the batsman who hits the most sixes in IPL. Sanath Jayasuriya was the 1st receiver of this award.
  • Most Valuable Player – It was called ‘Man of the Tournament Till 2012. Shane Watson was the first recipient of this award in 2008 IPL.
  • Emerging Player of the Year – It was presented as “best under-19 player” in 2008, and “best under-23 player” and “Under-23 Success of the Tournament” in 2009 and 2010 respectively. The award was known as “Rising Star of the Year”, in 2011-12, and “Best Young Player of the Season” in 2013. Since 2014, the award has been called the “Emerging Player of the Year.” The first player to receive this award was Shreevats Goswami.