States and Capitals of India: Check How Many States & UTs in India

States and Capitals of India

The Indian state of Bharat is located on the southern tip of the world’s largest continent, Asia, and has been called the Republic of India by its government since 1947. This country has a parliamentary system of government. As per the latest data for the year 2021, there are 28 states and 8 union territories (UT’s) in India,  In India, every state and union territory has a capital with administrative, legislative, and judicial functions. The chief minister is the head of every state. Here we have covered the list of states and capitals of India & its union territories.

India is the second most popular country in the whole world. It is also considered to be the 7th largest country all around the world. It can be challenging to manage the country’s activities in such a large country. As per the Indian constitution, the government has the right to divide the country into different States and UTs as it deems fit. All the details related to the States and Capitals of India have listed here below for your preparation process.

Importance of the Learning States and Capitals of India:

General awareness is one of the most important sections for various competitive examinations which plays a major role. Among that the States and Capitals of India is the most important topic which will have been asked in major government examinations. From the preparation point of view, here we have given the complete details of the states and capitals of India. Candidates kindly scroll down this article and know the complete details.

List of States and Capitals of India

India has 28 states. There are also 8 union territories. The 28 States and Capitals of India are as follows.

States and Capitals of India
State Capital Founded date Official language
Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad (till 2 June 2024) Amravati (proposed) 1St October 1953 Telugu
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 20th February 1987 English
Assam Dispur 26th January 1950 Assamese
Bihar Patna 26th January 1950 Hindi
Chhattisgarh Raipur 1st November 2000 Chattisgarhi
Goa Panaji 30th May 1987 Konkani
Gujarat Gandhinagar 1st May 1960 Gujarati
Haryana Chandigarh 1st November 1966 Haryanvi
Himachal Pradesh Shimla 25th January 1971 Hindi
Jharkhand Ranchi 15th November 2000 Hindi
Karnataka Bengaluru 1st November 1965 Kannada
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram 1st November 1965 Malayalam
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal 1st November 1965 Hindi
Maharashtra Mumbai 1st May 1960 Marathi
Manipur Imphal 21st January 1972 Meitelion (Manipuri)
Meghalaya Shillong 21st January 1972 English
Mizoram Aizawl 20th February 1987 Mizo
Nagaland Kohima 1st December 1963 English
Odisha Bhubaneswar 26th January 1950 Oriya
Punjab Chandigarh 1st November 1966 Punjabi
Rajasthan Jaipur 1st November 1956 Hindi
Sikkim Gangtok 16th May 1975 Nepal
Tamil Nadu Chennai 26th January 1950 Tamil
Telangana Hyderabad 2nd June 2014 Telugu, Urdu
Tripura Agartala 21st January 1972 Bengali and Kokborok
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow 26th January 1950 Hindi
Uttarakhand Dehradun 9th November 2000 Hindi
West Bengal Kolkata 26th January 1950 Bengali

Indian Union Territories and Capitals

Currently, India has 8 Union Territories. In 2019, the state of Jammu and Kashmir has been divided into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. The newly formed union territories have been formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020. Let’s have a look at the given table below.

Union Territory Capital Founded on
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 1st November 1956
Chandigarh Chandigarh 1st November 1966
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Diu & Daman Daman 26th January 2020
Delhi New Delhi 9th May 1905
Jammu & Kashmir Srinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
31st October 2019
Lakshadweep Kavaratti 1st November 1956
Puducherry Pondicherry 1st November 1954
Ladak Leh 31st October 2019

States and Capitals of India

States and Capitals of India – Powers & its Functions

Let us first clarify the difference between a state and a union territory before moving on to the states and capitals of India. India has eight union territories, but only Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry), and Jammu & Kashmir have their own legislatures. It is customary for each union territory to have its own capital or the main area of administration.

Basis of Difference States Union Territories
Control and Administration The state has its own administrative units with its own elected government. Union Territories are constituent units that are controlled and administered by the Central Government.
Executive Head Executive Head is the Governor Executive Head is the President
Relationship with Centre The relationship with the Centre is Federal. Unitary with the Centre. i.e. all the powers rest in the hands of the Union.
Headed by Administered by the Chief Minister and elected by the people. Administered by the Administrator which is appointed by the President. (except Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu & Kashmir)
Real Head Chief Minister is the real head. Lieutenant is the real head.

Union Territories of India: Updates

Before we get into the states and capitals of India, let us first have a first look at the recent updates on the Union Territories of India as of March 2021.

  1. With effect from 26th January 2020, India has 8 union territories. Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and Dahan and Diu have been consolidated into one union territory since January 26 following a bill that was passed by the Parliament in the winter session. From the merging of Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the number of UT’s have come down to eight.
  2. On August 5, the central government had announced the abrogation of the special status given to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 and its division into two Union Territories i.e. UTs of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh.

How Delhi, Puducherry, Jammu & Kashmir are different from other Union Territories?

  1. In India, all the states and three union territories, i.e. Puducherry, Delhi, and Jammu, and Kashmir possess elected legislature and government.
  2. Due to the constitution amendment, out of 8 union territories, the 3 UTs such as Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi, and Puducherry have elected representatives and chief ministers.
  3. Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi, and Puducherry possess their own legislative assembly and executive council and operate like states. The remaining union territories are controlled and regulated by the Union Government of the country.